Live life without regret

Image

So, if you read my previous post, you know that I’m a bit of a worry wart..ok, so I’m a HUGE worry wart, and letting go is something that I’ve been working on a lot lately.

Since entering the workforce, one of my biggest worries is that I’m wasting my time doing something that I don’t really like, thus, at the end of my life, I’ll look back and think, “why didn’t I just take a chance and do what I really wanted to do?” 

When I was in college, I took a stress management course, which was more like a “how to live your life” course, and it honestly changed my life. I used to be a super perfectionist, and now, I’m a bit of an imperfectionist. I still try my best at everything (don’t get me wrong), but I try not to give as many fucks as I used to. 

One lecture that my professor had during that course has forever changed my life, and I think about it on a daily basis, and unfortunately, it’s why I worry most days. 

My professor gave a lecture entitled, “The top 5 regrets of the dying.” Ever since my professor gave that lecture, I constantly think to myself, “why am I doing this?” and, “is this something I’m going to regret doing/not doing when I’m on my deathbed?”

The top 5 regrets of the dying are:

1.  I wish I’d had the courage to live a life true to myself, not the life others expected of me.

2. I wish I hadn’t worked so hard.

3. I wish I’d had the courage to express my feelings.

4. I wish I had stayed in touch with my friends.

5. I wish that I had let myself be happier.

So, with that being said, it’s been my personal goal to start living the way I want to, and to make sure that I don’t worry so much about pleasing other people and giving up what I really want to do because “society doesn’t think it’s a good idea.”

But, I want to know, what are your biggest regrets? What are you going to do to make sure that you live your life the way YOU want to?

Granny Smith- over and out

One thought on “Live life without regret

  1. Hi. Thanks for following my blog. I’ve been enjoying reading yours.

    I’ve seen these lists and they always make me take a little step back. I agree with your professor on most of the points but there’s a disparity here, for me at least. Maybe it has something to to with being a woman of a certain age. (I’m guessing I’m maybe your mother’s age, maybe even a bit older)

    Point 2 is the one that always whooshes by me. I’m not on my deathbed, but I’m old enough and have dealt with enough health issues that I have a grasp of the fact that death is and it will be here for me one day. Right now I wish I had worked more. Had I worked more, when the midlife crisis departure of my ex had happened, I might have been in a position to earn a better living for myself and my kids. I struggle with a part time teaching job and various odd academic and not-so-academic pursuits to bring home the bacon.

    Someone might say that it was a matter of “living up to other’s expectations” when I stayed home and worked (sparsely) at home with my kids. Not so. I wanted to do that. I don’t regret that time with my kids. I might say I regret marrying Mr. Ex. But, really, how can you regret something that brought you all these great kids? So, I wonder if other older women are saying to themselves as we grow older, “I wish I’d worked more/harder?” And, honestly, I don’t know how I could have done that. I chose to have a large family and I chose to put my academic career on the back burner. I worked very hard as a mother, a micro-scale farmer, and a writer. But could I have worked harder to get my degrees and a full time teaching job when my kids were younger? How would that have changed things right now? Would it have made things easier? Better? Maybe. Maybe not. Unanswered questions.

Leave a Reply

