One Body, Multiple Personalities

I just got a Netflix account…I know, I know, there goes my life! I’m already obsessed with “Orange is the New Black,” and I can’t wait to start “House of Cards” and “Breaking Bad.” I’ve even seen their movie selection…and HOLY CATS. One movie in particular that recently caught my attention was the documentary, “Mitt.” “Mitt” follows Mitt Romney and his family while on the campaign trail in 2008 and in 2012. I’m not afraid to say that I voted for Romney in 2012, but after watching this documentary, it became clear that the man I voted for during the campaign was very different from the man in his documentary. In 2012, I voted for Romney because I wanted a change and because I thought he was the lesser of two evils. But, once I saw “Mitt,” I actually wound up really liking the guy. Mitt is hilarious, and his family is so down to earth and honest. Mitt was criticized a lot for only thinking of the “rich, white man,” but it turns out that he is best friends with a lot of small business owners and is truly worried about their future. I think what was most surprising to me about the documentary was Ann Romney. I remember thinking that Ann was somewhat of a plastic, air-headed, Barbie doll during the campaign. Ann Romney, in a way, was like the Anne Hathaway of politics. She was so nice and sweet all of the time, only said positive things, and didn’t really have any strong opinions (other than to back her husband). However, during the documentary, I was shocked to find that she was a real, human being, a great mother and grandmother, and only wanted the best for her husband. She, in fact, had opinions of her own and a strong personality. At the end of the documentary, I left wishing that American would’ve gotten to see that side of Mitt and his family before the 2012 election. Yes, I realize that documentaries like this one can be used to boost “approval ratings,” and may completely cut out the negative side of a person. After all, it’s HIS story and no one wants to be seen in a negative light. But, that’s not what I’m getting at with this post. What I want to say is that the documentary left me wondering about my own “true colors” and how others perceive me differently.

My family and CLOSEST friends: They know me, for the most part, and usually get where I’m coming from. They know that I’m loud, obnoxious, love a raunchy joke, and pass gas from both ends on the regular.  They know that I would do anything for them. Also, they love the fact that I can be over the top, and they know that I’m obsessed with pop culture, and they believe I should be famous. (Doesn’t everyone?)

My Co-Workers and Acquaintances: If you asked my past and present co-workers, or individuals that I don’t know well, they’d say that I’m extremely reserved, quiet, and very shy. They’d probably even mention something along the lines of “it’s hard to hold a conversation with her.” They know me as the “nice,” quiet girl that sits in the corner, will listen to your problems, and be of assistance in any way that she can.

My Significant Other: He’s seen both sides of me, but knows that my “true” personality is the one I show my family and closest friends. He knows that I’m a little rough around the edges, but I can also be VERY emotional. At times, I have multiple emotions over the course of one day! He knows that I can also be inappropriate in public places and randomly break out some new dance moves while walking down the street. He also knows that I may be crazy, but he can also take me home to his mother, and introduce me to other important people in his life without them thinking, “Why the hell is he with her?” He understands my insecurities and is trying to help me overcome them. He realizes that I can be lazy and complain, but I also love to be active and I have goals. I like to party, but I also like to stay home. I’m a hot mess, and yet, he wants to be with me. How cool is that?

My Dog: And then, there’s my other best friend. He thinks I’m a nurturer. He knows that I’m the lady who coddles him too much, gives him one too many treats, provides him with food and water, and walks him daily. Other than that, he doesn’t give a shit about what his mommy does with her free time.

Do you have different “personalities” depending upon who you’re with/what situation you’re in? Let me know in the comments!

Granny Smith – over and out

11 thoughts on “One Body, Multiple Personalities

  1. Mitt Romney lost a winnable election by pandering to stupidity and ignorance. If he had campaigned as the real Mitt Romney, he would have won, easily. His dad was one helluva good man, good governor, good Cabinet secretary. That kind of man doesn’t raise the Mitt Romney who campaigns like a Southern redneck.

  2. I like how well you described the different aspects of your personality as they are revealed to certain people and in specific settings — it’s so true that we’re slightly different depending on who we’re with and where we are! I also loved that you included your dog’s perspective too! Great post. 🙂

  3. Hi! I loved this post, and I also wanted to thank you for checking out my blog and following. I am looking forward to reading more of your site. 🙂
    PS–I voted for Mitt too! (Sigh)

Leave a Reply

