Go Ahead, Celebrate!

Image

 

So, now that Valentine’s Day is long gone, I want to bring it back into the realm of conversation…I know, sorry! But, it’s not what you think! Give me a second to explain…

My birthday is August 14th, so Valentine’s Day is a big day for me because…it’s my half birthday. Check: If you’re not rolling on the floor laughing by now, what’s wrong with you? I can only imagine what all of you are thinking, who the hell celebrates their half birthday? Trust me friends, I didn’t come up with this; I was suckered into it by my mother when I was a little girl.

For as long as I can remember, every Valentine’s Day, my mother would sneak into my room before I woke up and leave a few small gifts, candy, a card, and a balloon. And, at the end of the day, my family and I would gather around the kitchen table and enjoy some cake! I was always reminded on February 14th that not only was it a national holiday, but I was exactly 6 months away from my birthday. Now, why did my mother constantly remind me that Valentine’s Day was also my “half birthday?” I secretly think that my mom has always wanted to share her birthday with a holiday and when that dream obviously did not work out in her favor, she hoped and prayed that one of her children, hell, even one of  her pets, would have a birthday on a holiday. When that didn’t work out, she studied the calendar and thought of the next best thing. I mean, we don’t celebrate anyone else’s half birthday in our house ….lucky me!

The point of all of this is that when I told my boyfriend about my family’s crazy Valentine’s Day tradition…he didn’t even flinch. Sure, he thought it was weird. But each Valentine’s Day he makes sure that he treats it like my second birthday. I receive half a cake, half a birthday card (tehehe), flowers, my favorite food, and most importantly, love. The crazy part about all of this is I hate Valentine’s Day and so does he. But, the dumb Hallmark holiday has actually brought us closer together because of my mother’s interesting calendar observation. We don’t look at February 14th as another stupid holiday, but a funny reason to have something to celebrate. I feel like the luckiest girl in the world because I get to celebrate two birthdays a year instead of one… and I don’t age twice!

In the end, everyone should have the opportunity to feel like they’re the most important person on the planet! And it doesn’t have to be on Valentine’s Day or just your birthday. It’s important to find someone in your life that wants you to feel amazing about who you are, what you believe in, and everything in between. The fact that my boyfriend picked up this ridiculous tradition of mine and ran with it means wonders, and I don’t have to cringe every time Valentine’s Day rolls around!

But, the main reason why I brought this up is because I want to hear from you guys! Is there anything that you significant other, family members, friends do for you that makes you feel special? Are there any holidays in particular that you love more than the rest because of an awesome tradition you have?  Let me know and be well!

Granny Smith – over and out

10 thoughts on “Go Ahead, Celebrate!

  1. Well my wife’s birthday is the 15 of February, but in the Czech Republic they also celebrate names day( basically it is a second birthday on an allotted day for your name). Her names day is the 15th of August,. So we go for dinner on valentines day, celebrate her birthday the next day, then her names day and then Christmas! My birthday is Christmas Eve, so I usually just get one present for both days 😦

  2. No special traditions or holidays… But I treat my husband’s birthday as if its my own – huge party, nearly edible homemade cake, pinatas, breakfast in bed… Birthdays get me more excited than the actual birthday person. Maybe that’s because of pinatas and cake.

  3. What a delightful post & blog! I am so glad you found mine & followed, so I could come on to yours …
    It is very refreshing to read optimism impersonated sprinkled with a huge dose of love & mixed thoroughly with flows of humor 😉
    Looking forward to following!

  4. I think that’s great! Each family is unique and different, sometimes in good ways somtimes in bad. And this is a unique family tradtion that is good! Wish I would have thought of something like that…

Leave a comment